Introduction

My name is Logan Vescio, a Government student from Claremont McKenna College’s class of 2014. I’m a Government major because I was always interested in the deepest subjects growing up; I settled with political philosophy because it encompasses many of the fundamental questions regarding the human condition. To build a polity from the ground up, you need to understand a vast array of things from many different subjects, from religion to economics to power structures. I would have gone into philosophy, but many “philosophers” nowadays are mere logicians and rhetoricians. 

Astronomy was a hobby (obsession) of mine from about 3rd grade to the day I left for college, hence why I chose it as my science GE. I was always fascinated by astronomy because I had the notion that it provides perspective regarding our “place” in the universe. To know that you are vastly larger than an atom but pathetically tiny compared to a (mere) star can change the way you look at many of your day-to-day problems.

Macro-scale cosmology is what I am most interested in regarding Astronomy. Before I discovered philosophy, I looked to cosmology for information on my deepest questions about life. Cosmology and philosophy ought to be more intertwined; when philosophizing about the Eternal (Kierkegaard) or Forms (Plato), cosmology matters in that it can provide a scientific analysis of certain aspects of those claims. For example, the fact that time and space are intertwined (not independent forms), indeed everything is intertwined (reminds me of Buddhist philosophy), or the fact that the Heat Death of the universe appears all but inevitable and will happen in 100 trillion years maximum.

So many scientists in news articles talk about human “immortality” upon ending the aging process. Immortality is living forever. But even if you ended aging indefinitely, cosmology could tell you that living for over 100 trillion years is still a rather unlikely prospect because you would run out of the usable energy that is required to think. All I’m saying is, these end-of-aging advocates might stop using the word “immortal” and instead say “very very long lifespan” if they took an Astronomy course.

Studying cosmology since an early age has thus granted me perspective on many things that at first seem unrelated to it.

My ultimate aspiration is to be a political philosophy professor, should that fail I wish to become an author or journalist, and should that fail I’ll probably go into law (disgusting I know).

Leave a Reply

